4 Hour Game Dev

foobar

Jam #2 : Postmortem

Jam #2 has ended.

Wasn’t able to host this round because I was helping a friend with his film, so a big thanks to Sir, orange08, Exar, and Zeddy for helping co-host in my absence.  Seriously, they’re all great.

Jam Streams:

Sir:
Main stream. (Currently uploading).

ThatSnail:
Last minute stream showing the last hour of the jam.

And now the projects in no particular order:

Full list

Jakobs98 made Valkyrja based on Nordic gods and murderous blue spheres.  Contrary to his promises, there were no kittens.  I invite everyone to torture him until he adds them.  He made a cool stream but I’m not sure if there’s a recording so it might not be visible?  Someone correct me.

luskel and iAmScissors made a fishing game and a self-named “white boy rap” to go with it.  Took me a good half an hour to figure out how to play but it’s really fairly simple.  I’m not going to tell you how, you’re going to have to suffer through figuring it out like I did.  Arrow keys only, there’s a hint.  Also a stream!

CaptainLepidus is remaking Arcoria (Beta) from the ground up, released for the first time on this very jam!  We do feel special, yes.  Sadly there’s not very much to it yet except some very basic motion but that’ll change.

orange08 made and finished Asteroid Panic in a mere 2.5 hours or so.  Features tactical tunneling and frantic retro action.  It’s also based on a beta of one of my older games which makes it ten times awesomer.  Simple, addicting gameplay as is usual by orange08.

Goebbels made some music.  I’ve never heard of the genre “Noise Rock” before but despite it sounding like a horrible idea to make music out of noise, it’s fairly well done here.  At around 1:04, his trademark darkness comes into play.  Don’t bother watching the timetrack for it, you’ll figure out when you hear it.  Livestream here.

Sir continues his series of games based on non-terminal mental illness with Amnesia.  The intro message suggests that you can talk to people but it seems your character has forgotten how to talk.  However, they know how to shoot perfectly fine.  You start out in the center of a maze full of people.  Think you know what happens next.

Once again, thanks to all of you for participating!  I’ll be posting information about the next jam soon.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Jam #2 : Postmortem

  1. Good fun!

    There is also a secret in my fishing game: try to hold a orange fish on your line as long as possible.

    Also, just a side note: Luskel was my team mate, not one of my nicknames.

  2. jakobs98 on said:

    I’m afraid there was no recording. My computer probably doesn’t hold enough power to record video anyway. I just had that join.me stream. It’s great, really, but as far as I’m aware, there’s no recording feature.

    Sorry about the kittens, I’m afraid they won’t be implemented for a while. That is, until I’ve made the place where you deposit bodies to the goddess Freya. Anyway, I’m available in #gmc @ irc.boredicons.com pretty much all the time. Feel free to ask me about anything there ;D

  3. jakobs98 on said:

    Yeah, no recording, sorry =(
    I don’t think join.me has that feature but I don’t think my computer would handle it anyway. Sorry about the kittens, too. I will make sure to add them when I create the whole corpse carrying part of the game.

  4. orange08zero on said:

    Woo! Great job everyone! I’m glad I was finally able to make something.
    Funny how I usually only finish stuff when I have a deadline.

Leave a Reply

